Why I Choose “Single”

Why I Choose “Single”

Being single is a choice and doesn’t necessarily mean being alone, at least that’s the case for me.

There are so many people who rush into a relationship for the sake of being in a relationship which I am guilty of myself. But as a single Mom entering a new relationship means something a little different now; I have think about what being in a relationship means, without letting my mind go to places that result in utter panic of what could happen to my sweet innocent baby girl, but let’s face it if you are a single mom in the dating world, chances are your mind has gone to those unthinkable dark places as well.

Just a few things that scratch the surface are:

1: Will my daughter adapt to the mate I choose? Will my partner agree with my parenting style? What if everything goes great until one or the other decides it’s just too much to deal with? Then all that time, wasted! I also like the idea of having all of the say about what my daughter learns, who she is around, and how she is disciplined.

2: I like not having to answer to anyone about what I do, where I go, and what I make for dinner. After I work a long day and come home, sometimes I just want mac-n-cheese and my daughter couldn’t be happier with that decision. That’s not to say we don’t have a hot three side meal with dessert but I don’t want to do that every night.

3: My money is my money! That’s right, I do NOT have to share my earnings with anyone. I pay my bills, I buy all the necessities for my baby girl (and then some), then if I decide I want to blow money at the fair or on a pair of ridiculously cute and expensive shoes for myself or my daughter, I can.

That’s not to say I will never date or I don’t want to share my life with someone but in the end I have to weigh out the odds. I have to decide when I am willing to let someone come in and change our little world and right now, change is something I am just not ready for.

Leave a Reply

